[ X ]

Environment Program welcomes New Advisors

The Metcalf Foundation is pleased to welcome advisors to our two new Environment Program funding streams, Carbon Landscapes and Climate Blueprints, as well as to our existing Cycle City fund.

Advisor input is a critical part of Metcalf’s funding decision-making process. Committee members review funding proposals and provide Foundation staff with feedback regarding the proposed work. They also share their insights and other helpful information.

Launched in late 2017, both Carbon Landscapes and Climate Blueprints are in their first year of operation. Carbon Landscapes is dedicated to connecting climate action and conservation initiatives in order to help advance nature-based climate solutions across the country. Climate Blueprints focuses on producing implementable policy reports that act as guides for achieving climate commitments at the provincial and/or national levels. Cycle City was launched in 2014 with the goal of building a constituency and culture that support cycling in Toronto.

Carbon Landscapes Advisory Committee

Valérie Courtois, Director, Indigenous Leadership Initiative

Steve DeRoy, Director, The Firelight Group

Brodie Guy, Executive Director, Coast Funds

Dr. Joseph LeBlanc, Executive Director, Social Planning Council of Sudbury

Tonya Makletzoff, Conservation Area Advisor, Government of Northwest Territories

Dr. David Pearson, Professor, School of the Environment, Laurentian University

Dr. Risa Smith, Co-Chair, Protected Areas Climate Change Specialist Group, World Commission on Protected Areas, International Union for the Conservation of Nature

James Stauch, Director, Institute for Community Prosperity, Mount Royal University

Climate Blueprints Advisory Committee

Karim Bardeesy, Distinguished Visiting Professor and Special Advisor to the President, Ryerson University

Stephanie Cairns, Principal, Wrangellia Consulting

Lois Corbett, Executive Director, Conservation Council of New Brunswick

Dave Harvey, Executive Director, Park People

Sunil Johal, Policy Director, Mowat Centre

Jessie Sitnick, Account Director, Argyle Public Relationships

Ed Whittingham, Principal, Whit & Ham

Mark Winfield, Professor, Faculty of Environmental Studies, York University

Cycle City Advisory Committee

Monica Campbell, Former Director of Healthy Public Policy, Toronto Public Health; Assistant Professor in the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto*

Hannah Evans, Director, Building and Development Branch, Ministry of Municipal Affairs 

Matt Galloway, Host, Metro Morning on CBC Radio One 

Jennifer Keesmaat, Former Chief Planner, City of Toronto; Distinguished Visitor in Residence, Department of Geography & Planning, University of Toronto

Albert Koehl, Environmental lawyer, Road Safety Advocate and Adjunct Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School*

Siva Vijenthira, Coordinator, Building Citizenship, Institute for Canadian Citizenship*

* new advisor

Next >
Congratulations to the 2018 Toronto Sector Skills Academy Cohort
< Previous
Metcalf Interview
John Stapleton
The George Cedric Metcalf Charitable Foundation
38 Madison Avenue, Toronto, ON  M5R 2S1